Core Lightning 25.12.1~2

I updated CL today to the newest release 25.12.1~2 on StartOS 3.5.1 and now the UI gives me a error stating “Could not establish a connection to node”.

I stopped all services before upgrade and then shutdown and restarted the server but nothing seems to have helped in that regard.

The error log for the service reports:

2026-09-01T11:46:40-06:00 [ERROR - 2026-09-01T17:46:40.247Z]: WebSocket error: {}
2026-09-01T11:46:40-06:00 [ERROR - 2026-09-01T17:46:40.247Z]: WebSocket is closed at 2026-09-01T17:46:40.247Z
2026-09-01T11:46:40-06:00 {“level”:“error”,“message”:“\tCommando lightning error from listpeerchannels command”,“timestamp”:“2026-09-01 17:46:40:4640”}

The service is running and it does appear that the channels are still intact but no access from the UI. I opened those channels via LND and they are still in there but are shown as offline of course.

The node is a Server One and I have figured out that it requires “start-cli package action lightning-cli” to trouble shoot (I think)

error: The following required arguments were not provided:

<action-id>

I am unclear how to determine why the UI is reporting “Could not establish a connection to node” and unclear about <action -id>.

Could anyone shed light on this?

There is an update to this: Apparently ver 25.12.1~2 is not the current version of CL?

I am unsure about how to install this…so now real confusion

StartOS 0351 at this point is no longer maintained and it is highly recommended that all users upgrade to the latest StartOS 040.

There have been various updates to all services lately and CLN is no exception. The latest available version for those users on the latest StartOS is CLN 26.6.7:2 which has just been released.

I understand this but my 1.9m sats is sitting on the 0.3.5.1 server and I dont want to lose those or the channels at all.

When upgrading to 0.4.0 what option should I select to keep the services (LND, ALBY , Core Lightning and Knots) in tacked? The instruction for 0.4.0 are as clear as mud when it comes to this.

Thanks

If you carefully follow the instructions step by step which includes making backups before and after, there is no risk to your funds and everything will be migrated over.

"Selecting a data drive that holds StartOS data opens the StartOS Data Detected dialog. Choose Preserve to keep your existing data.

A 0.3.5.1 data drive is formatted ext4, which 0.4.0 converts to btrfs. Because of that conversion the dialog asks you to confirm you have a backup, and Preserve stays greyed out until you check I have a backup of my data — the backup you made in Step 6."

Yep. I see it now. Thanks for the kick in the head…I made a mistake and selected the wrong option on the 2nd server I already upgraded.

Thank you