Best way to run Start9 on a PC alongside LINUX OS

Ok, I’ve been playing with start9 since last April. I started by installing it on a fairly new PC (2 years old) which was not my main system being used at the time. I have 5 SSD drives in it (3 NVMe totaling 4.5 TB, 2 SATA totaling 750 GB), i also have 64 GB of RAM and an 8 core intel cpu.
At that time i had Linux mint running on one SSD and installed start9 on a different SSD. Now im far from being a techie because i just started playing with Linux so dont think im an expert. I still consider myself a newb. I didn’t like that setup because I couldn’t use the Linux drive without shutting down start9. So i after looking at options i decided to get a raspberry pi4 with gb ram and 2 TB ssd nvme on the pi. Although it ran pretty good, as i started running more services, it started to slow down so i thought i would go back to the pc since its much more powerful. I wiped the pc and installed PROXMOX with start9 on it but I wasn’t sure about allocating resources to it and I didn’t like the proxmox experience so i wiped it and installed it on the pc again. Now i find this is the best way since start9 is using all the resources and it’s very fast. Downloaded the bitcoin blockchain in less than 20 hours. BUT im curious is there a better way to use this pc with start9 on it? A way wher i can have Linux running and start9 at the same time. PROXMOX is above my expertise.

If you want to run multiple OSs side by side, virtualization is your only option, and, Proxmox is in my opinion the best (free) option available currently. It has a bit of a learning curve, but there’s a lot of good videos on youtube available on how to set it up, configure and install client virtual machines.
I’m running Start9 on proxmox on an Intel NUC together with other VMs like openmediavault for storage/samba shares and a separate VM running docker for other stuff. It has been perfect for me.

1 Like