Can install linux CA pls help

Hey I am new to linux and am trying to trust my root ca but after getting the p11 kit I cannot finish. It says that
mv: cannot stat ‘/usr/lib/firefox-esr/libnssckbi.so’: No such file or directory

which I am sure is some kind of dumb error on my part but I can’t fix it. I understand that it can’t find the file bc it doesn’t exist… but Idk what to do. If anyone could explain like i’m 5 it would be crazy helpful. Thank you

Hi there, and welcome!

What Linux distribution (such as Ubuntu), version (such as 22.04), and browser (such as Firefox) are you setting up?

Thank you for getting back to me. I am using Kali 2023.1
Ubuntu kept crashing for some reason and I got tired of it last night. I’m using firefox-esr
I followed the directions on the start page first running
sudo apt install -y ca-certificates p11-kit

then
libnssckbiso=/usr/lib/firefox-esr/libnssckbi.so && sudo mv $libnssckbiso $libnssckbiso.bak && sudo ln -s /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/pkcs11/p11-kit-trust.so $libnssckbiso

but it returns that the directory doesnt exist. I"ve searched the files and the libnssckbiso isn’t there. obviously all other dirs do up to that but its driving me NUTs trying to fix it. Any help would be wildly appreciated. Thank you

My pleasure!

Obviously we cannot test/support every single Linux distribution, so we have tested only the major desktop distros at this time. It sounds like this guide is not going to apply to you, despite Kali being Debian-based (if I recall correctly).

Kali is also purpose-built for penetration testing, and I would personally recommend against using it as a general purpose desktop OS. That said, you obviously have the Freedom to do as you choose with these systems, so if you want to continue, you’ll need to find out how to trust system-level certificates on Kali. If you do, please report back here for the benefit of others.

Ok. Sounds good and when I figure it out I’ll let you guys know. Thank you.

1 Like