My Node is unconnectable in Lightning Terminal

Hi,
I’m new in LN world so sorry for maybe stupid questions.
I’ve spending so many hours and I don’t know what is going on with my Node.
Everything looks good - everything is connected, Tor is working but I can not open any channel - even those huge one.

I have SATs on my on chain in Thinderhub but where I’m connected to Lightning Terminal it shows that my Node is unconnectable. Why? what I’m doing wrong?
This is the reason why I can not open any channel? Is the Tor problem?

Hi Marteen!
Have you been opening channels using Thunderhub? If yes, what error are you encountering? Lightning Terminal is not the interface for opening channels, you can use it to loop in/out or connect other clients to your LN node. Check TOR logs in “System > Insights > Tor logs” to ensure everything is okay, or connect to your server using the .onion address found in “System > Insights > About.” If it’s a newly synced node, it needs some time to propagate over the network and connect with peers. You can add peers using RTL > Lightning > Peers/Channels > Peers > Add Peer. Let me know if it’s helpful.

1 Like

Worth separating the two issues.

1. “I can’t open channels” - that’s significant. As H0mer says… do you get some kind of error, or are you just unfamiliar with the process?

2. “Random website doesn’t see me” - that’s probably fine for now, because you don’t have any channels. As H0mer says, this site has little to do with anything, and you don’t need to connect to it. And if you open private channels, it might always stay like this.

If you like Thunderhub, there are some BTC Sessions videos (a little out of date) that you might find useful explaining Lightning generally and how to open channels.

2 Likes

The only thing I use Lightning Terminal for is connecting Zeus to my node so I can do some managing, tracking with my phone and make some payments from time to time.