Unable to Access Server via Brave > HTTPS

Hello,

I confess that I am a Linux noob and I just set up a start9 server. I am unable to access the server via the LAN address (let’s just say that its https://embassy-random-name.local/) but I can via the ipv4 address. I’ve tried via Brave and Chrome. And I confirmed that it is accessible via mobile (iOS). I am getting this error:

Brave Error: DNS_PROBE_POSSIBLE
Chrome Error: DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN

I followed the Trust CA instruction for both the OS and browser.

System OS: Linux Mint 21
Brave: v 1.50.119
Chrome: Version 112.0.5615.121 (Official Build) (64-bit)

I know I’m above average technically capable. But still not used the the Linux systems. Can someone please advice on troubleshooting?

Much appreciated!

1 Like

Hey - I’m guessing you used the guide here Start9 | Trusting Embassy CA on Linux

Mint I believe has some quirks. Did you follow the instructions for Debian/Ubuntu?

1 Like

Yes those are the instructions that I followed.

1 Like

Can I ask that you run through the Mozilla parts and try this with Firefox?

1 Like

It did not work in Firefox either. Error: “Hmm. We’re having trouble finding that site.”

I can confirm security.enterprise_roots.enabled = true

If you’re on wifi and the Start9 server is on ethernet, your router must make them into 1 logical network by “bridging” them. This is the case for most setups, but check that that’s the case for yours. Your Mint computer and the IP of the Start9 server should be in the same range (usually 192.168.1.x).

If that’s correct, something’s definitely wrong with Mint’s mDNS resolution.

Try the following command, where enp1s0 is your ethernet or wifi interface name.

sudo systemd-resolve --set-mdns=yes --interface=enp1s0

sudo systemctl restart systemd-resolved

You can see the interface names with ip addr show

3 Likes