Will AI replace coders?

For last 5 months I’v been “learnig to code”. To be exact web dev. Few weeks ago I started using chatGPT and now I’m thinking what is the point of me learnig. To be honest I am a bit worried if there will be any job when im done studying. Dont get me wrong. Using AI made me much more efficient and creative. What do you think guys?

1 Like

In my opinion it’s just another tool. Even if lots of code can be generated in an “intelligent” way, it will still require a living being with creativity and innovation to be the Creator.

4 Likes

I think it is a great tool to have, but if you don’t know how to put the code together it may not work, so you still need to ‘know how to code’, also if it steals your job, your next job is to learn to write good AI prompts :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I think it wont replace coders. Rather it will help the coders with writing code. I’m a coder myself (+10years experience and going) and used ChatGPT to generate some code snippets, which was very helpful. The generated code never was 100% what i needed but it was very usable every time. Needed very few corrections/adapting. So to summarize it indeed is a very good and helpful tool, if you know how to use it, 2-10x less time to write code.

2 Likes

I agree its powerful tool. It can reduce 5 coders to one to do the same and lower the bar for beginers. Hard to imagine that it is positive for job market. Also Have been thinking in this progress how can one trust any video and audio on web, basicly any data…

1 Like

This is like saying that the Internet and search engines will replace libraries. Not only has this not happened (they serve slightly different purposes), but also there are suddenly exponentially more people with rapid access to books and answers.