Accessing server remotely

Hello there,

Apologies if this has been posted before but I can’t find it. I want to access my start9 server remotely. I can’t seem to be able to do this. I know I can only do it with Tor and that Tor can be slow. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Love my start9 server

2 Likes

We have a very detailed guide that will help you set everything up for remote connections:

Connecting Remotely

You can always contact us directly over on our Telegram Community where we have Service Techs who are on duty to help from 6:00 am to 9:00 pm Mountain Time.

1 Like

Hello there,

Thanks for the response! This is the message I keep getting whenever I try to connect using Tor. I have no idea what it means. I’m a total noob

I should add that the server is running. I can access it on firefox.

Hi Lloyd - this is unlikely to be anything to do with your server, it’s more likely an issue with the Tor network itself, you just got unlucky your first time using it.

Make sure you are using your Server’s (or your individual service’s) .onion address and not the .local.

In the browser there’s am option for “New Identity”. Click that (or the “New Circuit” below it and it should work.

This is the Onion address for start9.com if you’d like to use that to test with: http://privacy34kn4ez3y3nijweec6w4g54i3g54sdv7r5mr6soma3w4begyd.onion/

I hear that a future version of StartOS will have the ability to have separate IP addresses that you can then port forward in your router. Or, as I would do, use Tailscale and route my subnet. I have found Tor is pretty much unusable. Super slow and if you need to run a VPN on your device, you probably wont be able to access tor anyway. Fingers crossed that this new version of StartOS comes out in the near future.

Yes, clearnet is coming in v0.3.6 and more so in v0.4.0.