Start9 on Minisforum UM790 Pro

I’m new to Start9 and tried to install the OS on a “Minisforum Venus Serie UM790 Pro” mini-PC. (with a AMD Ryzen 9 7940HS Processor)

On the SSD Windows 11 is still installed.

After flashing startos-0.3.5.1-39de098_x86_64 with balenaEtcher I inserted the USB to the PC. In the BIOS I selected the USB as booting device.

After booting it shows:

Live system (amd64)

Live system (amd64 fail save mode)

Utilities

After selecting “Live system (amd64)” It reads “Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.”

Question: How do I proceed?

Hey, that’s a nice looking mini PC. Great specs for the price too! Like any Linux Distro, it runs on most x86_64 systems, but not all. Take a look at our known good hardware forum:

It is possible, there’s just something about that particular machine that is simply incompatible. But I’d try to rule out every other possibility first. I would be surprised if you don’t need the non-free image for that machine. So makes sure you are downloading the correct ISO. I’d also try a different flash drive, just to rule that out as a possible problem. Another thing I might try, is to attempt to install Debian on that machine just to see if that works. If Debian won’t work, you’re going to have a tough time getting StartOS to work, as it’s based on Debian.

Thank you Mike. Indeed, well built and good-looking mini pc with excellent specs and ditto reviews. I had a look at the hardware list (before I purchased this one) and did see a couple of Minisforum models and assumed this one would do the trick and unfortunately overread the part where it reads “x86_64 Architecture”.

In the BIOS I changed two settings:
BIOS > Advanced > Security Device Support > Disabled
BIOS > Security > Secure Boot > Disabled

I booted with a fresh/brand new flash drive with the same results. Then I flashed the nonfree.iso and it worked!

Where do I purchase a Start9 nonfree license?